When The Lady Tries To Be A Dude

30 Jan

I know it’s a huge risk to write from a guy’s perspective if you’re a girl.

There’s a part of my novel that presents the story from the other side, and while I’ve finished the draft and I’m pretty satisfied by how it went so far (not too dramatic, considering, you know, it’s the guy POV)… I’m still having doubts if I should continue with it, or just revamp the entire part and shift it to some other girl. (Yes, I obviously can’t write that certain part in the female protagonist’s perspective.)

Incidentally – and this might help me make up my mind – I’ve started reading novel #8, Champagne Toast by Melissa Brown, and I’m elated to see the first chapter in the guy protagonist’s perspective. That’s something I’ve been looking for, and I’m glad to have come across this book. We’ll see. (And I blame my novel for my recent chick lit spree. I’d say I’m not quite turning into a sap yet, but on the contrary, I’ve always been a sap. Haha.)

Leave a Reply

